I don’t watch TV or get a newspaper. Instead I look at the web every morning, usually checking four sites for news.

First, and don’t ask me why, I look at MSNBC.com. It’s completely crap. I know it’s complete crap. But hey, what if Britney Spears got arrested again today? At least I have stopped looking at their science and technology section, which is largely made up of garbage from www.livescience.com — oh don’t get me started about them. OK, I’m going to make an effort to NOT look at MSNBC or CNN anymore.

Next, I look at the BBC’s site: http://news.bbc.co.uk/. This is a good source of international news, but it has gone downhill in quality in the last few years. There is a lot of POV and crusading journalists to deal with, and pretty much everything that happens now has something to do with global warming. But nevertheless, it is light-years beyond MSNBC or CNN.

Now it’s time for real news. And after looking at the first two sites, I am always amazed when I check the Christian Science Monitor’s webpage: http://www.csmonitor.com/

Today, I see India is having a crisis because it agreed to buy nuclear fuel from the USA, but the communists might bring down the government because they don’t care about nuclear energy and don’t want ties with the US. There was a thoughtful article about the relationship between rising gas prices and the low value of the dollar. Is raising the dollar a good idea? Maybe not. In general, this site makes MSNBC and BBC both look garish and amateurish.

Finally, as a computer professional, I naturally read The Register: http://www.theregister.co.uk/. Not to be confused with the other tech site The Inquirer, which is pretty junky. The Register has several good journalists with different points of view, and for the most part they seem to be honest. I often get pissed off at them, but then so do the people whose eyes turn into rotating spirals when they talk about Linux.

